Even if a chip shop has separate fryers for chips and meat products, during quiet periods they will often cook both in the same fryer. Fries are sometimes coated in animal shortening. Some chip shops cook chips and animal products separately but alternate the pans, so the chips will be prepared in oil that has previously been used for meat or fish. A fairly common practice in chip shops with separate fryers is to filter the chip oil and fish oil together after the first frying session with fresh oil. In this case the chips will be vegan on the first session but aterwards there is a possibility of cross contamination with oil that has been used to fry animal products. Also watch out for places that fry separately but keep the cooked fish and chips together before serving. Many chip shops use Frymax to cook with. This is palm oil so if you want to avoid this product, you might want to ask if a place uses it.
Sometimes coated in egg. This only tends to be when it is dry, not in sauces. Some tofu contains gelatine as an ingredient.
Almost always contains egg but some places will do it without if you ask.
Occasionally crispy shredded chicken or duck will have an egg coating.
Many noodles contain egg but some do not and rice noodles (vermicelli) & udon noodles are normally OK.
Generally avoid. Although vegan versions exist we only know of one place in Wales that uses one. It can be added to many dishes including black bean sauce, chow mein, ginger & spring onion, Szechuan and sea spice options.
Although it is possible to get vegan jars of satay sauce, almost all of them contain shrimp.
THAI RED/GREEN CURRIES
Beware. Mae Ploy brand sauce is used in very many places to make these curries. It contains shrimp.
Most mild curries contain dairy cream. Kormas almost always do.
Most places make up large batches of curry sauce to be used as the basis for many dishes. Check that animal products such as butter ghee, cream or condensed milk are not contained in the curry base.
Sometimes contains dairy products.
Check what oil is used in dishes, mostly it is vegetable oil but sometimes ghee is used, vegetable ghee is vegan, butter ghee is not.
Often contains milk.
ONION BHAJIS/VEGETABLE PAKORA
Sometimes these are bound with egg.
At some restaurants & takeaways butter ghee will be used in the preparation of boiled rice.
Some pasta contains egg. Penne is usually vegan. All fresh pasta seems to contain egg.
Most pizzas are made on the premises and can be ordered without cheese. Check there are no milk products, egg or honey in the bases and no animal products in the sauce topping.
May contain milk or egg.
May contain dairy products but this is not common.
Some wraps contain milk. Check.
Samuel Smith Brewery pubs have a large selection of vegan beers. There are three in Wales. The Waterguard in Cardiff Bay, Ye Olde Murenger House in Newport and The Sir Gawain and the Green Knight in Connah’s Quay.